Photo collection

The collection consists of around 120,000 historical photographs, some dating as far back as the 1860s, with motifs drawn from all parts of the world. The shots of landscapes, settlements, people, plants and animals, etc. comprise documents revealing geographical research practice over the last 150 years. The pictures' authors are well-known travel photographers such as Samuel Bourne, Albert Frisch, Marc Ferrez or Pascal Sebah. A part of the collection of historical photographs is researchable in the online catalogue  of the Central Geographical Library.

Aerial pictures

Numerous aerial pictures from the picture archive reach back to the beginnings of aerial photography. Ernst Wandersleb, the balloonist and Carl-Zeiss physicist (1879–1963) photographed large parts of Germany from the air between 1905 and 1913. The pictures show structures of settlements and natural landscapes, cloud formations and events centred around balloon travel. Also forming part of the collection are aerial pictures by the Augsburg-based balloon-maker and aerial pioneer August Riedinger (1845–1919), which are similarly of much interest for historians of photography, aviation and geography.

All photographs of the Wandersleb and Riedinger collections can be researched online. The collection of aerial pictures have appeared in two pictorial volumes, produced by Lehmstedt Verlag (publishers): "Mitteldeutschland in frühen Luftbildern" (Central Germany in Early Aerial Pictures) (more) and  "Ritter der Lüfte" (Knights of the Air) (more).

Photographs on colonial-geographic themes

One of the most extensive collections of pictures from the African colonies of the Kaiser’s German Empire comes from the Colonial-Geographic Institute of the University of Leipzig. Most of the ca. 5,000 photos originate from expeditions undertaken by the colonial geographers and researchers of Africa, at the start of the 20th century in the then German colonies of Togo, Cameroon, German East Africa (now Tanzania) and German South-West Africa (now Namibia). These are supplemented by photos from research trips into the colonial areas of the British, French and Belgian overseas empires.

South America photos

The attractions of the photo collection include the stock of pictures from South America. The oldest of the ca. 10,000 photographs date back to around 1868; known as the "Alphons Stübel Collection", it formed the core element of the archive for travelling researchers after it was founded in 1902. The geologists Alphons Stübel (1835–1904) and  Wilhelm Reiss (1838–1908) had undertaken extensive studies on several research trips in the Andes region. The collections from  Hans Meyer (1858–1929),  Rudolf Hauthal (1854–1928),  Hans Steffen (1865–1936) and Carl Troll (1899–1975) supplement the stock of historical pictures from South America.

News

Events

22.10.2018 to 23.10.2018, St. Petersburg, Russland

Urban and Regional Resilience: Strategies for Success

RSA Russia Conference 2018  

08.11.2018 to 10.11.2018, Berlin, Germany

Spatial dynamics of informal and shared mobilities

The Marshrutka Project’s final conference – Call for Applications  

10.12.2018 to 12.12.2018, Leipzig and Zerbst (Germany)

Workshop Invitation: Theorising Cities from/with a Global East

Leibniz Science Campus Eastern Europe – Global Area Thematic Workshop 

Publications

Pflug, Laura
(2019)
From "All under Heaven" to "China in the World" : Chinese visual imaginations from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. -
In: Mapping Asia: Cartographic encounters between East and West : regional symposium of the ICA Commission on the History of Cartography, 2017 / Martijn Storms, Mario Cams, Imre Josef Demhardt, Ferjan Ormeling, Editors. - Cham : Springer, 2019. - (Lecture Notes in geoinformation and cartography), Seite 247-263
Rekhviashvili, Lela / Sgibnev, Wladimir
(2018)
Placing transport workers on the agenda : the conflicting logics of governing mobility on Bishkek's marshrutkas. -
In: Antipode, 50 (2018), 5, Seite 1376-1395
http://ifl.wissensbank.com/cgi-bin/fastxml.cgi?srec=fastxmliflpublsearch&search1=L9050S%3Daktuelles&search2=%20&maxrecs=2&maxrecs=2
0
time 1539958733.1986
diff_last 1539958733.1986
diff_start 0
function getList
line 596
comment start getList
1
time 1539958733.7496
diff_last 0.55096483230591
diff_start 0.55096483230591
function getList
line 609
comment process result
2
time 1539958733.7503
diff_last 0.00071096420288086
diff_start 0.55167579650879
function getList
line 615
comment return

Fotosammlung

Die Sammlung besteht aus rund 120 000 historischen Fotografien seit den 1860er Jahren mit Motiven aus allen Teilen der Welt. Die Aufnahmen von Landschaften, Siedlungen, Menschen, Pflanzen und Tieren usw. stellen Dokumente geographischer Forschungspraxis der letzten 150 Jahre dar. Unter den Bildautoren sind bekannte Reisefotografen wie Samuel Bourne, Albert Frisch, Marc Ferrez oder Pascal Sebah. Ein Teil der historischen Fotografien ist im Online-Katalog der Geographischen Zentralbibliothek (OPAC) recherchierbar.

Luftbilder

Zahlreiche Luftaufnahmen im Bildarchiv gehen auf die Anfänge der Luftbildfotografie zurück. Der Ballonfahrer und Carl-Zeiss-Physikers Ernst Wandersleb (1879–1963) nahm von 1905 bis 1913 große Teile Deutschlands aus der Luft auf. Die Aufnahmen zeigen Siedlungsstrukturen und Naturlandschaften, Wolkenformationen und Ereignisse rund um die Ballonfahrt. Ergänzt wird die Sammlung durch Luftbilder des Augsburger Ballonfabrikanten und Luftfahrtpioniers August Riedinger (1845–1919), die für Fotohistoriker, Luftfahrthistoriker und Geographiehistoriker gleichermaßen von Interesse sind.

Alle Fotografien der Sammlungen Wandersleb und Riedinger sind online recherchierbar. Aus dem Bestand der Luftbilder sind im Verlag Lehmstedt zwei Bildbände erschienen: "Mitteldeutschland in frühen Luftbildern" (mehr) und "Ritter der Lüfte" (mehr).

Kolonialgeographische Aufnahmen

Eine der umfangreichsten Bildbestände aus den afrikanischen Kolonien des Deutschen Reichs bildet die Sammlung Kolonialgeographisches Institut der Universität Leipzig. Die meisten der rund 5000 Fotos stammen von Expeditionen der Kolonialgeographen und Afrikaforscher vom Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts in den damaligen deutschen Kolonien Togo, Kamerun, Deutsch-Ostafrika und Deutsch-Südwestafrika. Hinzu kommen Fotos von Forschungsreisen in die britischen, französischen und belgischen überseeischen Kolonialgebiete.

Südamerikafotos

Zu den Attraktionen der Fotosammlung zählt der Bildbestand zu Südamerika. Die ältesten der rund 10 000 Fotografien datieren aus der Zeit um 1868 und bildeten als „Collection Alphons Stübel“ den Grundstock des 1902 gegründeten Archivs für Forschungsreisende. Die Geologen  Alphons Stübel (1835–1904) und  Wilhelm Reiß (1838–1908) hatten auf mehreren Forschungsreisen umfangreiche Studien im Andenraum durchgeführt. Die Sammlungen von  Hans Meyer (1858–1929),  Rudolf Hauthal (1854–1928),  Hans Steffen (1865–1936) und Carl Troll (1899–1975) ergänzen den Bestand historischer Südamerikabilder.

Aktuell

Stellenangebote

14.03.2019

Studentische/Wissen­schaftliche Hilfskraft

Im IfL ist ab dem 1. Mai 2019 eine Stelle als  

06.03.2019

Wissenschaftliche/n Mitarbeiter/in

Das IfL sucht zum 01.07.2019 eine/n 

06.03.2019

Wissenschaftliche/n Mitarbeiter/in mit technischem Hintergrund

Das IfL sucht zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine/n  

04.03.2019

Assistent/in des Direktors sowie Sachbearbeiter/in Verwaltung

Das IfL sucht zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine/n  

04.03.2019

Sachbearbeiter/in Drittmittelverwaltung

Das IfL sucht zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine/n  

Pressemitteilungen

14.03.2019

Tuberkulose in Städten häufiger als auf dem Land

Die Mehrzahl der bundesweit 5486 Tuberkuloseneuerkrankungen, die 2017 an das Robert Koch-Institut in Berlin gemeldet... 

25.01.2019

Entscheidung im Realisierungswettbewerb für den IfL-Neubau

Architekturbüro Henchion Reuter gewinnt Wettbewerb um neues Gebäude des Leibniz-Instituts für Länderkunde in der... 

Termine

04.04.2019, Zwickau

Industrie – Identität – Image: Industrie­regionen entdecken ihre Kultur neu

EU-Projekt InduCult2.0 lädt zur Abschlusskonferenz am 4. April 2019 im August-Horch-Museum in Zwickau ein 

16.05.2019, Leipzig

Migrationsgesellschaften in städtischen Räumen Europas – Call for Proposals

Internationaler Workshop zu den Potenzialen und Grenzen postmigrantischer Perspektiven – Vorschläge für Beiträge können... 

16.06.2019 bis 19.06.2019, Trondeim, Norwegen

Nordic Geographers Meeting 2019

Von IfL-Wissenschaftlern organisierte Fachsitzungen beschäftigen sich mit regionalen Entwicklungspfaden und kulturellen... 

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Website für Sie optimal zu gestalten.

Zur Analyse nutzen wir den Webdienst Matomo. Ihre persönlichen Daten – darunter Ihre IP-Adresse – werden vor der Verarbeitung anonymisiert. Bitte stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.