Leipzig around 1900

Like many other cities, until the mid-19th century Leipzig essentially consisted of the medieval core of the city, surrounded by small suburbs and villages. It was not until industrialisation came that the parts of the city merged together, and with the conversion of the inner city at the dawn of the 20th century, Leipzig ultimately became a pulsating metropolis.

This transition is documented in picture postcards, among other sources; the IfL’s collection alone encompasses 5,000 motifs. The exhibition of posters shows locations and buildings in Leipzig on 80 large-format boards, comparing coloured picture postcards from the 1900-1920 period with photographs of the same motifs today. In this way, what emerges is a strikingly vivid picture of the city at the start of the 20th century, making the far-reaching changes which took place in the 20th century readily recognisable.

The basis for the exhibition is the following volumes of pictures from the Lehmstedt-Verlag publishing house - "Leipzig um 1900. Die Innenstadt in kolorierten Ansichtskarten" ("Leipzig Around 1900. The Inner City In Coloured Picture Postcards") by Heinz Peter Brogiato. The show was in two parts  – showing the inner city and various districts of the city – and was on display from April to October 2009 in Leipzig's City Library.

Kontakt

Heinz Peter Brogiato
H_Brogiato(at)ifl-leipzig.de
Tel.: +49 341 600 55-126

News

Events

16.09.2018 to 18.09.2018, Kiev, Ukraine

Space, Values and Power

International Conference on spatial transformations as contestations and negotiations of values and power relations... 

22.10.2018 to 23.10.2018, St. Petersburg, Russland

Urban and Regional Resilience: Strategies for Success

RSA Russia Conference 2018  

08.11.2018 to 10.11.2018, Berlin, Germany

Spatial dynamics of informal and shared mobilities

The Marshrutka Project’s final conference – Call for Applications  

Publications

Pflug, Laura
(2019)
From "All under Heaven" to "China in the World" : Chinese visual imaginations from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. -
In: Mapping Asia: Cartographic encounters between East and West : regional symposium of the ICA Commission on the History of Cartography, 2017 / Martijn Storms, Mario Cams, Imre Josef Demhardt, Ferjan Ormeling, Editors. - Cham : Springer, 2019. - (Lecture Notes in geoinformation and cartography), Seite 247-263
Pilz, Madlen
(July 2018)
Speaking, building, shopping : a social-anthropological approach to the post-socialist condition of Tbilisi. -
In: Cities of the South Caucasus : a view from Georgia / edited by David Gogishvili & Alessandro Coppola. - Roma, July 2018. - (I Quaderni di U3 ; year 6, No. 15), Seite 59-71
http://ifl.wissensbank.com/cgi-bin/fastxml.cgi?srec=fastxmliflpublsearch&search1=L9050S%3Daktuelles&search2=%20&maxrecs=2&maxrecs=2
0
time 1534489686.6296
diff_last 1534489686.6296
diff_start 0
function getList
line 596
comment start getList
1
time 1534489687.1284
diff_last 0.49878907203674
diff_start 0.49878907203674
function getList
line 609
comment process result
2
time 1534489687.1292
diff_last 0.00078105926513672
diff_start 0.49957013130188
function getList
line 615
comment return

Leipzig um 1900

Wie viele andere Städte bestand Leipzig bis zur Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts im Wesentlichen aus dem mittelalterlichen Stadtkern, den kleine Vorstädte und Dörfer umgaben. Erst mit der Industrialisierung wuchsen die Teile zur Großstadt zusammen, und mit dem Umbau der Innenstadt um die Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert wurde Leipzig schließlich zur pulsierenden Metropole.

Dokumentiert ist der Wandel unter anderem in Ansichtskarten, rund 5000 Motive umfasst allein die Sammlung des IfL. Die Posterausstellung zeigt auf 80 großformatigen Tafeln Leipziger Orte und Gebäude in der Gegenüberstellung von kolorierten Ansichtskarten aus der Zeit zwischen 1900 und 1920 mit Fotografien vom heutigen Zustand. Auf diese Weise entsteht ein verblüffend lebendiges Bild der Stadt um die Jahrhundertwende und werden die tief greifenden Veränderungen im 20. Jahrhundert erkennbar.

Grundlage der Ausstellung sind die im Lehmstedt-Verlag erschienenen Bildbände "Leipzig um 1900. Die Innenstadt in kolorierten Ansichtskarten" und "Leipzig um 1900. Die Stadtteile in kolorierten Ansichtskarten" von Heinz Peter Brogiato. Die Schau war in zwei Teilen – Innenstadt und Stadtteile – von April bis Oktober 2009 in der Stadtbibliothek Leipzig zu sehen und wird seitdem in den Stadtteilbüchereien gezeigt.

Kontakt

Heinz Peter Brogiato
H_Brogiato(at)ifl-leipzig.de
Tel.: +49 341 600 55-126

Aktuell

Pressemitteilungen

06.01.2020

SFB 1199 geht in zweite Förderphase

Wissenschaftler des Leibniz-Instituts für Länderkunde mit geographischen Fragestellungen beim Sonderforschungsbereich... 

15.11.2019

Forschungsvorhaben über Wismut-Erbe gestartet

Am IfL angesiedeltes Vorprojekt erarbeitet methodische und inhaltliche Konzepte 

Termine

22.01.2020 bis 23.01.2020, CityCube Berlin – Messe Berlin

13. Zukunftsforum Ländliche Entwicklung

IfL-Forscher diskutieren Praktiken des Wissenstransfers in agglomerationsfernen Räumen  

28.01.2020, Berlin

"Urbaner Aktivismus in Osteuropa"

Diskurs am 28. Januar 2020 in der Volksbühne Berlin / IfL-Wissenschaftlerin Lela Rekhviashvili als Mitdiskutantin auf... 

27.02.2020 bis 28.02.2020, Leipzig

Viele Methoden verderben den Brei?

IfL Forschungswerkstatt #6 befasst sich mit Mixed Methods in der raumbezogenen Forschung 

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Website für Sie optimal zu gestalten.

Zur Analyse nutzen wir den Webdienst Matomo. Ihre persönlichen Daten – darunter Ihre IP-Adresse – werden vor der Verarbeitung anonymisiert. Bitte stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.